Opened to unprecedented acclaim in 1929, Le Palais de la Mediterranee instantly became a showcase of luxury and inter-war celebration. Designed by architects Charles and Marcel Dalmas its prestigious inauguration included an impressive line up of celebrities and politicians from France and abroad, all invited as guests of American billionaires Franck and Florence Gould, already famed for the creation of Juan les Pins.

From the unveiling of the Art Deco façade, the early 20th century visitors marvelled at the sculpting of Satori, the white marbled, lobby, the massive staircase, the stained glass windows, precious woods and sparkling crystal chandeliers. Hailed as a gaming palace, the Casino rooms enjoyed some of the most stunning views over the Mediterranean through enormous picture windows. A 1,000-seat theatre attracted the greatest names in the world of Arts and Entertainment, among them Maurice Chevaliers, Jules Romain, Edith Piaf and Josephine Baker.

After the glitz of the roaring 20s and subsequent glamour of the 30s, the grandeur of the Palais declined little by little until it eventually closed its doors in April 1978, due to financial difficulties experienced by its then owners. The building was demolished with the exception of the façade which was a listed monument. Silent for twenty-six years, the iconic emblem of Nice's illustrious heritage was reborn in January 2004, following a multi-million Euro restoration overseen by Concorde Hotels & Resorts. The newly opened Palais de la Mediterranee offers 188 rooms, a luxurious solarium with indoor / outdoor pool and panoramic views, conferencing and banqueting facilities, an auditorium, the restored Art Deco Casino, and the latest designs in fitness and business equipment. Its 21st Century re-opening has once again elevated it to its former glory and legendary status.